Review: Like a fine wine, "Time" is Rod Stewart's new album!

Wine experts will tell you that the longer a grape stays on the vine, the sweeter the wine. This is how I sum up Time, Rod Stewart's new album. It is releasing May 7th, 2013, and marks Stewart's long-awaited return to his songwriting roots and features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced. Rod's decades of experience have been channeled into this well balanced and full bodied album experience.

The album was born from a burst of inspiration that came while Rod was reviewing his life for his recent memoir. Rod rediscovered his voice as a songwriter and rekindled his gift for writing the honest, nerve-touching narratives that have been the cornerstone to the first three decades of his career. "Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head," he says. "Next thing I knew, I had a song called 'It's Over' about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn't done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record."

Along with the release of Time, Stewart is set to embark on the European leg of his Live the Life tour on June 1st, while American dates with Steve Winwood will kick off October 17th.

Time Track Listing:
1. She Makes Me Happy (Watch the video:)
2. Can’t Stop Me Now
3. It’s Over
4. Brighton Beach
5. Beautiful Morning
6. Live The Life
7. Finest Woman
8. Time
9. Picture In A Frame
10. Sexual Religion
11. Make Love To Me Tonight
12. Pure Love
Where to buy Rod Stewart's album, Time:
 iTunes or Amazon

I really enjoyed this album and Rod's sweet perspective on life that is conveyed in each track. Every emotion is visited, but the track that especially spoke to me is the last one, "Pure Love." (Spoiler alert - have at least two boxes of tissues handy!) I have been a Rod Stewart fan ever since his "Hot Legs" and "Maggie May" days, so I am very pleased to say that his new album does not disappoint. It's just another delicious layer of Rod's undeniable talent.

Please take a moment to watch the video above and let me know
what you think about the first track on the album.

Disclosure: I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.



  1. I like the song, it's very upbeat

  2. I agree its an upbeat song but it isn't really something I would personally listen to. I'm more of a hip-hop, rock and top 40 kind of girl. It isn't bad though!

  3. Rod Stewart has always been a favorite of mine--Maggie May is definitely one pf my favorites--some people just have the gift of song lyrics-Rod is one of them!

  4. I love album reviews this is really cool plus I like that you included a video too.

  5. My aunt and I were just talking about his come back last night!

  6. My husband is a huge Rod Stewart fan. Might have to pick this up as one of his Father's Day gifts.

  7. Ok tissues are at hand lol x My hubbie really likes Rod Stewart thankyou for your review.

  8. Nice! I didn't know he released anything new. My sister LOVES him! I might have to pick up a copy for her.

  9. Anonymous8:43 PM

    That is a name I have not heard in a long time. I will check this out, thank you for sharing.

  10. love him! i listen to his songs before.:)

  11. His one of my favorite artists!

  12. Wow, still making music, how awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  13. I love Rod Stewart my husband always teases me and calls him Rod Munch, I say why cause some guys have all the luck? hahaha :)~

  14. I like most of his music too, they are just so nice.

  15. I will have to check this album out. It sounds pretty amazing. Thank you for the review!